Standing College Committees

Table of Contents

  • table of contents automatically added here...

The College of Education has a variety of standing committees to advise the Dean and Associate Deans on specific issues, with committee reports due to the Dean’s Office in June of each academic year. As of 2023-2024, the following are the College’s standing committees:

Advisory to the Dean

  • Diversity, Equity and Multicultural Education (DEME) Committee
    The DEME Committee builds on our long tradition of excellence and our commitment to diversity, equity, and social justice. The committee evaluates ways in which a higher level of equity and social justice can be developed and fostered in the College and across the campus. DEME advises the dean on diversity and equity issues and it continues to evaluate mechanisms for accurately capturing faculty and staff diversity-related teaching, research, and service opportunities.

    2023-2024 DEME Membership
    Erica Mason, SPED, Chair​​​​​​
    Adeoye Adeyemo, EPOL
    Stacy Clemmons, SAAO
    Melissa Goodnight, EPSY
    Chang-kyu Kwon, EPOL
    Rachel McMillian, C&I
    Theo Moton, EPOL
    Giselle Martinez Negrette, C&I
    Kaylin Ratner, EPSY
    Emily Tarconish, SPED
    Yuli Alcantar, Sr, Elementary Education
    ​​​​​​​Genesis Rivera, Sr, Middle Grades Education
    Angelique Evans, grad student EPOL
    ​​​​​​​Molly Galloway, grad student EPOL
    ​​​​​​​Aly Stephenson, Dean's Office Events
    Amy Summers, Dean's Office
  • External Awards Committee
    The work of this committee builds the foundation for enhanced external recognition of the college’s faculty and their scholarly achievements.  This committee identifies external awards, honors, and recognitions to be targeted, conducts a thorough evaluation of award criteria, timing of communications, and nomination/selection process for targeted awards, honors, and recognition, and develops nominations, reaching out as necessary to secure letters of support. 

    2023-2024 External Awards Committee Membership
    Kiel Christianson, EPSY
    Matt Lambert, SPED​​​​​​​
    Micki Ostrosky, C&I​​​​​​​
    Yoon Pak, EPOL
    ​​​​​​​​​Chrystalla Mouza, ex-officio
    ​​​​​​​Danielle Ward, staff
  • Faculty & Staff Awards Committee 
    This committee thoroughly evaluates college award criteria, timing of communications, and nomination/selection processes for College of Education award winners, including eligibility criteria, nomination processes, and award limits, and makes recommendations to the college leadership team for possible changes to policy or practice. Members work closely with the department awards committees to proactively seek out nominations from qualified faculty, staff, and students for college and campus awards. Members identify deserving College of Education nominees for campus undergraduate/graduate teaching awards, mentoring awards, and staff awards, and they review nominations and make selections and recommendations to the Dean.

    2023-2024 Faculty & Staff Awards Committee Membership
    Patrick Rice, EPOL, Chair
    Hannah Duran, OUP (CS award winner)
    ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Jess Gladstone, EPSY
    Jon Hale, C&I/EPOL
    ​​​​​​​Meghan Peach, SPED (AP award winner 2022)​​​​​​​
    Michele Schutz, SPED
    Meghan Best, SPED doctoral student​​​​​​​
    Parth Shastri, C&I master's student (for EPSY)
    Danielle Ward, staff
  • Advisory Committee for Space & Buildings
    The Space Committee is advisory to the dean regarding the allocation of space utilized and/or managed by the College of Education. It identifies and documents current space allocations, reviews space survey results and makes recommendations for current space needs and requests, makes changes to current space allocations, and identifies maintenance and repair needs.  Additionally, the committee reviews and recommends improvements to the College’s Policy and Procedures for the Allocation and Use of Space (1996).

    2023-2024 Advisory Committee for Space & Buildings Membership
    Jeremy Jones, ITP/Facilities, Co-Chair
    Jessica Li, Associate Dean for Research, Co-Chair
    Amanda Brown, Dean's Office
    Kiel Christianson, EPSY
    Matt Lambert, SPED
    Micki Ostrosky, C&I
    Yoon Pak, EPOL
    Jeffry Royce, Facilities Manager
    Chrystalla Mouza, ex-officio
    Danielle Ward, meeting coordinator

Advisory to the Academic Associate Deans

  • Academic Programs Committee (undergraduate and graduate)
    The Academic Programs Committee is appointed to serve in an advisory capacity to the dean, and as a liaison between the dean, the academic associate deans, the Committee of Department Executives (CODE), the Graduate College, and the General University Policy Committee for all new programmatic developments at the undergraduate and graduate level.  The committee addresses policy and procedural matters related to the advancement of undergraduate and graduate education in the College. 

    2023-2024 Academic Programs Committee Membership
    Liv Davila, EPOL, Co-chair
    Kary Zarate, SPED, Co-chair
    Lorenzo Baber, EPOL
    ​​​​​​​Chad Lane, EPSY
    Emma Mercier, C&I
    Nick Leonardis, C&I doctoral student
    Jill Donnel, ex-officio
    Sangeetha Gopalakrishnan, ex-officio​​​​​​​
    Jessica Li, ex-officio
    ​​​​​​​Sarah McCarthey, ex-officio
    ​​​​​​​​​​​​Karla Moller, ex-officio
    ​​​​​​​Lori Fuller, staff
    Heather Zorn, ex-officio awards
    Lori Fuller, Award Staff
    Linda Stimpson, Award Staff

Advisory to the Associate Dean for Research

  • College Research Committee
    This committee advises the associate dean for research on research issues and research climate in the college, reflecting the breadth of faculty research interests.  It nurtures the research climate in the college through formal and informal activities and recommends and provides guidance on activities of the Bureau of Educational Research, and reviews and recommends nominations to the dean for college scholars and fellows and Center for Advanced Study (CAS) fellows. CRC has two subcommittees; the subcommittee for awards convenes to oversee the review and recommendation processes related to the annual Hardie Award competitions, and the subcommittee for human subjects and research ethics meets to resolve human subject issues or concerns that may be brought to the attention of the College by campus IRB or the community, and reviews and responds to research ethics issues if/as they arise.

    2023-2024 College Research Committee Membership
    ​​​​​​​Amber Ray, SPED, Co-chair
    Rachel Roegman, EPOL, Co-chair
    Osly Flores, EPOL
    Jarrett Lewis, EPSY
    ​​​Helen Neville, EPSY
    ​​​​​​Asif Wilson, C&I​​​​​​​
    ​​​​​​​Yan Xia, EPSY
    H.M. Kuneyl, EPOL doctoral student
    Jessica Li, ex-officio
    ​​​​​​​Beth Niswander, ex-officio
    ​​​​​​​Danielle Ward, staff
Was this helpful?
0 reviews
Print Article


Article ID: 2463
Fri 7/1/22 10:24 AM
Thu 9/14/23 12:27 PM