Why does a student lose access to a Blackboard course after we make it available for them?

This document provides instructions, on how to respond to "Why does a student lose access to a Blackboard course after we make it available for them?"

Note: This problem has to do with the Banner-driven overnight student enrollment process. This is especially true when the student is already enrolled in the course but their Availability is set to "No".

How to resolve the issue:

  1. Either the student is not enrolled in the class in Banner, therefore the student is removed from Blackboard due to the Banner-driven overnight student enrollment process. . We may need to ask for a screenshot of their Banner registration to look for a problem (Ticket 1327647).
  2. Or the student was enrolled in the course, then dropped it. This means that the enrollment in Blackboard is automated. Making the student enabled in the course, or active, will only last until the next enrollment sync. Instead, the student needs to be removed/deleted from the course, then added in manually. When the student is added manually, automation will not remove it. This would take place under special conditions when the student dropped the class, but the instructor wants the student to be enrolled in the course anyway (Ticket 1330989).

Details

Article ID: 1781
Created
Tue 1/26/21 8:59 PM
Modified
Wed 4/21/21 5:09 PM